“My Librarian Cares More About Silence than Literacy”

RT @bethsteadman: “Did the icky librarian really just tell my son not to read aloud to himself in a faraway corner of the children’s section near NO ONE?”

This is unbelievable. I have to stifle the rage welling up in my soul over this.

Do these 20th century librarians still exist? It’s the 21st century; let’s try to champion a young boy reading over absolute quiet in a library.

5 Responses to “My Librarian Cares More About Silence than Literacy”

  1. INTPLibrarian says:

    The problem, though, with tweets is that you’re only getting one side.

    We don’t know that the son isn’t a 12 year old who’s reading out loud in a purposefully annoying voice and bothering someone else who is only a few feet away. Mom’s can be a bit defensive.

    OTOH, it could be exactly as bethsteadman conveys it.

    Champion a young boy reading over absolute quiet in a library? Absolutely!

    But try to let the rage fade since we don’t KNOW it was rage-worthy.

    Just sayin’

    • Gerrit says:

      @INTPLibrarian Of course there may be more to the story! Absolutely! But I like to use these tweets as face-value commentaries on libraries and library policies. Not to debate the validity of the tweet, but to begin a dialog about how we should act as librarians if a similar situation were to actually happen to us.

  2. Beth says:

    This was my tweet about my 6 year old son who was sitting on the floor in a faraway corner reading every line of a book about mummies to himself. There was no one near us. The library was practically empty. But it was a librarian shelving books who asked him to stop. Had he been loud or rude in any way, I would have warned him or taken him out of the library. I have 3 children who I have taken to the library for storytime and to explore books since birth. I expect them to conduct themselves in a respectful manner in public. The last thing I want is someone to kill my early reader’s joy.

  3. Gerrit says:

    Beth–thanks for the comment and the original tweet. We librarians need to hear more about how we are our actions are perceived, regardless of the motive. I hope you children continue to read all they want–you sound like a very involved mom–jb!

    • Anonymous says:

      It’s funny that I should have even accidentally come across this tweet from last summer, but I am glad it could be used for a discussion. You are obviously a concerned and progressive librarian. Thankfully, most librarians we meet are like you. We are grateful. The library is such a fabulous resource.

